The distillery was in the past known as Ledaig, changing its name to Tobermory Distillery in the 1970s. The distillery occupies the ground beside the Ledaig Burn on the foreshore of the picturesque 18th century harbour of Tobermory. Tobermory Distillery has enjoyed mixed fortunes since it was first established in 1823. It has been closed several times, most recently in the 1980s. Having reopened in 1989, Tobermory is now back in production.
AROMA without water Initially aromatic, with a salty sea air aroma. A Sweetness follows - bees wax. A very slight trace of smoke is also present. TASTE without water Very warming, with a creamy texture. A dark chocolate and fudge note brings sweetness, which is followed by fruitiness - cooked pears. AROMA with water Very fresh, with heavy maltiness. Sherry influences are now more prominent. TASTE with water Still mouth warming and very smooth initially. A milk chocolate and a Sherry sweetness follows.